Discover Nelson BC
Background Image

Richard Carver (a former president of NDAC) moved to Nelson from Ottawa where he had worked for The Ottawa Citizen and after that had a distinguished career with the National Library for twenty years. After moving to Nelson in 2001, he found a community where he could explore his own passions of writing and painting while serving as a cultural volunteer and support of many young artists in the community. Carver passed away suddenly in 2009.

The Nelson District Arts Council is proud to honour Carver’s contributions to the Kootenay arts scene, with the support of the Carver Family. The Carver Award  recognizes an emerging writer–one who has self-published one to two books (or through a small publisher). The recipient must be a West Kootenay resident and the published work can be of any genre.

Nominations must include name and contact information for both the nominator and the nominee, writing discipline (fiction, creative nonfiction, poetry, teen, children’s, etc), titles of published works and their publishers, and a paragraph outlining the reason for the nomination.

For additional details and nomination information click here!

Writer Richard Carver

    If applicable

    If applicable

    500 words

    500 words. Community Engagement is a large component of the judging process so please be as comprehensive as possible with the nominee's history.

    Past Recipients

    2013 – Darcee O’Hearne

    2014- Jane Byers

    2015- Susan Dancer and Avi Silberstein

    2016- Donna MacDonald and Alanda Greene

    2017 – Diana Morita Cole

    2018 – Morty Mint and Ernst Hekkanen

    2019 – Rayya Liebich

    2020 – Danielle LaRocque

    Password reset link will be sent to your email